WEF William D. Hatfield Award



William D. HatfieldThe William D. Hatfield Award is presented to operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism. The award was established in honor of Dr. William D. Hatfield, Superintendent of the Decatur, Illinois Sanitary District, who was President of the Central States Sewage Works Association in 1944-45 and served as President of the Federation in 1958-59.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and is presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association annual meeting.



Member Associations control the selection process following the Federation general criteria indicated below: 

  • Must be a member of the Water Environment Federation. 
  • A successful system of reports from the operator to his or her superiors that fulfill the information requirements and provide the operator with a forum for suggestions for improvements.
  • Use of a good public relations program. 
    The nominee should have contributed to the dissemination of information concerning advancements in the field. 
  • The size of the membership dictates the frequency with which Member Associations are eligible to make nominations for the award. 

RMWEA William D. Hatfield Award Recipients

 1962    Farrell McLean 1965    Larry Faulkner 1968    Ray Duggan
 1971    Robert D. Hall 1973    Bobby A. Kocerha 1974    Leonard H. Stroud
 1975    Ralph Sterry 1976    Raymond Lucero 1977    James C. Jamsay
 1978    Estell "Hap" Mayberry 1979    Max M. Grimes 1980    Perry B. Libby
 1981    Bud Wilson 1984    Edmund G. Archuleta 1985    Thomas Huston
 1987    Michael J. Beck 1988    Donald R. Felke 1989    Buck Wenger
1990    Michael L. McCrary1991    Terry W. Anderson1992    Jimmy Brewer
1993    Ernie Oram1994    R. Wayne Ramey1995    Dale Butler
1996    Norman Henderson1997    Wes Bressler1998    Jack Young
1999    Tom Dingeman2000    Bill Mixer2001    Greg Farmer
2002    Tony Woodrum2003    Timothy G. Grotheer2004    Bob Alberts
2005    Steve Walker2006    Paul Heppler2007    Jeff Rabas 
2008    Kevin Hill2009    Jim Medlock2010    Leonard Robb
2011    Craig Barnes2012    Earl Picard2013    Edyta Stec-Uddin
2014    Jim Kaufman2015    Blair Corning    2016    Cole Sigmon
2017    Kenneth Rutt2018    William Hoyt2019    Eli Jennings
2020   Parker Newbanks III  2021   Ramon Arguello2022    Kenneth Lipe