WEF Laboratory Analyst Award



This award was established by the Board of Directors in 1993 to recognize individuals for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession. The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and is presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association annual meeting.


  • Must be a member of the Water Environment Federation. 
  • Candidate must be employed at an educational facility laboratory, industrial, commercial, or municipal laboratory which performs wastewater-related analysis, and must have direct analytical responsibilities. 
  • Candidates are eligible for this award only once.
  • Qualifying criteria may include: 
  • Membership and involvement in professional associations. Examples: Water Environment Federation Committees, Standard Methods Joint Task Groups, MA committees and conferences and conference activities. 
  • Outstanding efforts in the area of wastewater and environmental aquatic analyses, including such items as innovative sampling techniques or solutions to a treatment, analytical or environmental problem. 
  • Involvement in community activities or public relations. 
  • Presentations at professional conferences, meetings, etc. relevant to water quality analysis. 
  • Professional certifications. 
  • Continuing education. 
  • Contributions that have been beneficial to the nominees facility. 
  • Unusual initiative or performance "beyond the call of duty".

The RMWEA Laboratory Analyst Award Recipients


1998  Molly L. Castleberry, Denver, CO

1999  Mike Schoenberg, Greeley, CO

2000  Cindy Wright-Jones, Ft.Collins, CO

2001  RusselChurch

2002  Stacey Walker Littleton/Englewood WWTP

2003  Deborah Taylor UTSD, Estes Park, CO

2004   LesaJulian, City and County of Broomfield

2005  Joan Day, Littleton / Englewood WWTP

2006  Linda Puga

2007  Leah O’Connor, Aurora Water

2008  KathryneMarko, City of Longmont

2009  Jason Graham, City of Fort Collins

2010  Patty McClellan - Colorado Analytical Labs

2011  Blair Corning, SACWSD

2012  Kevin Feeley, Metro WWRD

2013  Stacey Walker, Littleton/Englewood WWTP

2014 Jo Holcomb, City of Grand Junction

2015, Kevin Feeley, Metro Wastewater Reclamation District

2016  Dave Meyer, Westminster

2017  Natalie Love

2018  Shahid Malik

2019   Elisabeth Werth