WEF Arthur Sidney Bedell Award



The Arthur Sidney Bedell Award was established to acknowledge extraordinary personal service to a Member Association. The award is named for Arthur Sidney Bedell, the second president of the Federation who exemplified its purpose by his long devotion and service to the New York Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, now the New York Water Environment Association. He was Chief of the Bureau of Sewage and Waste Disposal of the New York State Department of Health.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association Annual Meeting.


  • Must be a member of the Water Environment Federation. 
  • Organizational leadership, administrative service, membership activity, stimulation of technical functions, or similar participation. 

RMWEA Arthur Bedell Award Recipients

 1950    Leonard O. Williams Jr.1953    Charles G. Caldwell  1959    R. P. Lowe
1962    Jack Maquire1967    Ernest Hamilton1970   William Turney
1973    K. D. Linstedt1974    Allen Jones1975    James E. Abbott
1976    James B. Warne1977    Jack P. Sampson1978    William H. Hornberg
1979    David Hubly1980    Howard Lacy1981    William Page
1982    Daryl Gruenwald1983    William Martin  1984    George Sellards
1985    Bob A. Hegg1986    Robert E. Swedberg1987    Ron Schuyler
1988    Dick Kuckenrither1989    Clark Tuck1990    Joe Tamburini
1991    Robert T. Jelinek1992    Larry DeMers1993    William Brinker
1994    Jim Ris1995    Tom Huston1996    Ron Mosher
1997    Debra Campbell1998    Jose' Velazquez1999    Don Felke
2000    Dale Butler2001    Brian Janonis2002    R. Wayne Ramey
2003    Joseph D. Chwirka2004    Tom Dingeman2005    Steve Frank
2006    Debbie Stenson2007    Mark Sampson2008    Jenny Hartfelder
2009    Greg Woodward2010    Tony Woodrum2011    Kevin Hill
2012    Jamie Eichenberger2013    John Rehring2014    Jeff Rabas
2015    William Raatz2016    Edyta Stec-Uddin2017    Jeff Berlin
2018    Joe R. Tamburini2019    Bill Peretti