Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers (SSSSS)

Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers members are selected by previous members in recognition of "Outstanding Meritorious Service above and beyond the Call of Duty" to the Rocky Mountain Water Environment Association. 

The honor of being conferred with 5-S Society membership is recognized nationally and internationally by any and all persons connected with the Water Environment Federation (WEF), as well as by members of various other association and professional societies, trade associations, and virtually at all levels of government for “those in the know,” regarding what the Golden Shovel represents. It is important to note that one cannot “join” the 5-S Society, but that Members are “selected” on the basis of merit. Induction into the RMWEA 5-S Society bestows upon the nominee the accolade of being elevated to the highest ridge of the sludge bed, and receipt of the coveted Golden Shovel connotes a very special honor and recognition which is sought by many and achieved by few.


 Year Recipients   
 1963 Jim Phillips, CO   
 1964 Howard Lewis, CO   
 1965 Alton Ragsdale, CO   
 1966 C.F. Robertson   
C.W. Chrisetenson, NM
1968Bob Lowe, NM   
1969Al Jones, COJack Sampson, CO  
John Puntenney, CO
Jim Warner, CO  
1971Toni Rossi, Co   
1972Dan Linstedt, COBill Warner, COArt Vondrick 
1973S.R. Jenkins, WYJim Abbott, COJ. Floyd ByrdJoe Hanlon (Honorary)
1974Howard Lacy, COBob McWhinnie, COBob Kocherha, CO 
Carl Houck, CO
Farrell McLean, NM  
Bill Kobitz, CO
Emmett Goss, NM
Bob Champlin, WY
Bob Canham
Jesse Lunsford, NM
Bill Martin, CO
Bob Streeter, WY
Martin Lang
William F. Turney, NM
Dwight Sayles, CO
Elmer E. Ross 
Hal Kepner, CO
Dave Sellards, CO  
1980Daryl Gruenwald, COBob Hegg, CO  
1981Bill Page, COTom Feeley, CO  
1982Bob Swedberg, COKerwin Rakness, CO  
1983Ed Archuleta, NMDave Hubly, CO  
1984Clark Tuck, CODarryl Allenam, WY  
1985Ron Schuyler, CODon Felke, CO  
1986Dick Kuchenrither, COPam Pepper, CO  
1987Joe Tamburini, COLarry Demers, CO  
1988Howard Delaney, COBob Jelinek, CO  
1989Bill Brinker, COTom Huston, CORon Mosher, NM 
1990Jim Ris, COTerry Anderson, CO  
1991Bill Mixer, WYDave Oerke, CO  
1992Tom Gallier, COMark Van Nostrand, CO  
1993Debra Campbell, COSteve Polson, CODale Butler, CO 
1994R. Wayne Ramey, COKaren Speer, COJack Young, WY 
1995Jose Velazquez, CORoberta Rivers, CO  
1996Ernie Oram, CONorman Henderson, CO  
1997Bob Alberts, COBrian Janonis, COJoe Chwirka, NM 
1998Tom Moretto, COMichael McCrary, CO  
1999Tom Dingeman, COMarion Hill, CO  
2000Greg Farmer, COTerry Franklin, CO  
2001Steve Frank, COSherri Jones, COJulie Samora, NM 
2002Debbie Stenson, COTony Woodrum, CO  
2003Dave DuBois, COMark Sampson, COPaul Heppler, CO 
2004Jenny Hartfelder, COKevin Tone, CO  
2005Kevin Hill, COGreg Woodward, CORay Kemp, CO 
2006John Rehring, COJim Tallent, CO  
2007Jamie Eichenberger, COJim Medlock, CO  
2008Jeff Rabas, CO   
2009Will Raatz, COJason Mumm, CO  
2010Jeff Berlin, CONikki Crews, CO  
2011Edyta Stec-Uddin, COBrenna Durkin, CO  
2012Jim Edwards, CODennis Schump, CO  
2013Tye Jordan, COJulie Smith, CO  
2014Joe R. Tamburini, COBlair Corning, CO  
2015 Stacey Walker, CO Bill Peretti, CO  
2016   Ceila Rethamel, COSteve Hettinger, COArt Umble, CO 
2017Pieter Van Ry, COSteve Walker, COZach Collins, CO 
2018Kristin Johansen, CODebbie Taylor, COKevin Feeley, CO 
2019Jamie LangerWilliam HoytHannah Wilner