Biosolids Management Merit Award


This award will be presented to the wastewater treatment plant to recognize outstanding efforts in biosolids management practices. 

Criteria for this award may include: proper biosolids treatment operations; development of a sound biosolids disposal program; development of an effective biosolids disposal monitoring program; research and development of alternative treatment or disposal options; public relations; and outstanding supervision of biosolids management practices. 

Awards may be made to selected nominees in each of the states of Wyoming, New Mexico and Colorado.


 1998 Littleton/Englewood WWTP  & Colorado State University 1999 Steve Glass, City of Albuquerque Southside Water Reclamation Plant
City of Colorado Springs, Water Resources Dept. Hanna ranch
 2000 Dennis Fernandez, OMI Inc / Taos WWTP 2001 Southern Ute Indian Tribe WWTP
Albuquerque Wastewater Utility Division
 2002 Aspen/Aspens II Water and Sewer District
Town of Taos WWTP
 2003 Littleton/Englewood WWTP
City of Las Cruces Jake Hands Wastewater Treatment Facility
 2004 Wayne Schultz, Parker Ag Services
Joe Madrid, OMI, Inc. City of Rio Rancho
 2005 Metro Wastewater Reclamation District
 2006Gerald Salazar, OMI, Taos2007  Mike Scharp,   Parker Ag Services, LLC
 2008 Paul Heppler, 75th Street WWTF Boulder2009 Joe Bailey, Albuquerque Bernalillo County Water Authority
2010Kipp Parker, Paul Grundemann, Tim Grotheer - Pankake Ranch, Centennial Water and Sanitation, Plum Creek Wastewater
Jake Hands Wastewater Treatment Facility, City of Las Cruces
2011Clear Springs Ranch, Colorado Springs Utilities
2012Littleton / Englewood WWTP
Joe Madrid, CH2M HILL/Rio Ranch
2013Eric R. Lopez at the Las Cruces Utilities
2015 Littleton / Englewood WWTP2016Arlisa Michael, Metro Wastewater Reclamation District
2019Drake WRF and Meadow Springs Ranch, City of Ft. Collins