WEF George W. Burke Award

This award was established in 1982 in honor of George W. Burke, Jr., for his many years of service to both the water environment field and the Federation as staff manager of technical services. Mr. Burke was instrumental in developing the Federation's annual safety survey and assisting in the production of several safety training aids and promotional packets. The purpose of this award is to encourage an active and effective safety program in municipal and industrial wastewater facilities.

The award consists of a plaque suitably inscribed with the recipient's name and presented by a Federation representative at the Member Association Annual Meeting.


RMWEA George W. Burke Award Recipients

1986 Public Service Company of  New Mexico Wastewater Operations Division  1987 City of Colorado Springs Dept. of Utilities Wastewater Division
 1989Littleton / Englewood WWTP  1990Crow Creek and Dry Creek WWTP Cheyenne Public Utilities
 1991 City of Loveland, CO WWTP  1992 City of Arvada, CO Wastewater Treatment Division
 1993 Village of Los Lunas, New Mexico  1994 Metro Wastewater Reclamation District Denver, CO
 1995 Breckenridge Water and Sanitation District  1996 Eagle River Water and Sanitation District Vail, CO
 1997 City of Boulder 75th St. WWTP 1998  Silverthorn/Dillon Joint Authority
1999 Dove Creek WWTP, Dove Creek, Colorado 2000 Plum Creek WWTP
2002 OMI, Inc,Taos, New Mexico 2006 South Adams County Water & Sanitation District
Williams Monaco Wastewater Treatment Plant
2007 Colorado Springs Utilities 2008 Town of Erie Colorado
2009 Eagle River Water and Sanitation Distric 2010 Drake Water Reclamation Facility, Ft Collins, CO
2011 Clifton Sanitation District 2013 Estes Park Sanitation District
2014 Littleton / Englewood WWTP